Sad

Several months ago I told you about a sweet little girl, my neighbors granddaughter, with leukemia. I can’t imagine a family with more love for a little girl and who could have fought harder to bring her back to health but sadly they lost that fight last night and she died.

I didn’t know her, had never even met her but she brought together people in her short life and inspired acts of generosity and kindness that few of us manage in a lifetime. For over a year their network of friends and family kept them fed and cared for. People brought food for the parents every night in the hospital and then extended it to other families going through the same thing, eventually feeding the nurses on duty on both the pediatric oncology floor and then the pediatric ICU. Acts of love and kindness like that and so many others ¬†inspired by one tiny 3 year old little girl.

I feel such sadness for her parents who never gave up hope and for my dear neighbor. Tuck them in your prayers again. No one should go through that.

I will miss the funeral. I wish I could be in two places at the same time. My mom fell and was injured two nights ago. Not sure what will happen there so I will be going to help her and do what I can. I feel rather helpless. I am anxious to get there. I’ve always lived far away and at times like this it is harder than others. She could use a prayer or two as well.

Sorry for the very sad post today but that is what is going on and I needed to write. If you stuck around to the end I appreciate it and your prayers and support.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’m so sorry you are feeling sad today Zoe. Sounds like she was a very special little girl, and so much love from those around her…beautiful. I hope your mom is doing alright…and that once you are there and using your energy to help her, you start to feel better yourself.

    Reply
  2. Hello Zoe, how sad to hear of this news. I feel so sad for everyone concerned, thinking of you. I hope your mum gets better soon too
    love Jan.xx

    Reply
  3. Wilma Rubble

     /  05/09/2014

    Zoe all the wonderful things you did to lift your friends’ spirits during this difficult time was so touching and I am certain will never be forgotten. You truly live in a spectacular neighbourhood ( something I can say I am also fortunate for). That love and warmth will carry your friends once more. They know you and know that only something serious would keep you from them, but moreover they know they are in your thoughts and prayers even if they can’t be in your presence.

    Barney lost a little family member to cancer before we were married. I still see how it affects him and his family to this day. There will many more opportunities to show your kindness and support in the future.

    I will keep all of them in my thoughts as well as your Mom.
    love
    willie

    Reply
  4. catrouble

     /  05/10/2014

    Hey Zoe…Sending prayers, healing energy and positive thoughts for for your mom, you and that little girls family.

    That little girl managed to bless and influence a lot of people…a memory to be cherished.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Reply
  5. I am so very sorry Zoe. Sending positive thought and prayers to the family and to your Mom for a speedy recovery.

    Many (((Hugs)))
    Roz

    Reply
  6. Blondie

     /  05/11/2014

    I will keep praying for you and to the family. So sorry

    Reply
  7. I am so sorry Zoe. I’ve been praying for this little girl and will continue to pray for her family. Losing a child is unthinkable and I can’t barely imagine how difficult it is for all of them right now.

    You have been a good friend to your neighbor through it.

    I hope that your mom is doing better!

    Reply
  8. Zoe

     /  05/14/2014

    To everyone above… Thanks so much for commenting. Your wishes and prayers for that sweet girl and my mom mean so much. You al really mean a lot to me. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

