More Mindful

The new year has come and gone and even though I am very late the first thing I want to do is wish you all a fabulous 2014. While we can never see the future I feel very positive going into this year and hope that it is our best yet.

The holidays here were nice. Mostly slow and relaxing which is the best kind to me. My kids were home which is always wonderful  but man does it put a crimp in our Dd style. Don’t get me wrong. The basics remain but just like the summer pretty much all spanking, for fun or more serious reasons goes away.

I think one of the reasons I know I want this lifestyle so much is how much I miss it when it is curtailed. It is funny really. Because we have these prolonged periods of time where we have to interact without the full resources of Dd we are generally pretty good at maintaining our roles without them. It just isn’t as much fun. And it isn’t easy.

Toward the end of our kid imposed hiatus I could feel myself pulling away and generally not being as open to him as usual both physically and emotionally. Just when I thought maybe I didn’t need the connection that spanking gives as much as I used to I found myself  starting to spiral.

Even after two years I still find it amazing sometimes how much I both want and need that connection.

Anyway last weekend my youngest and I took my oldest back to school and spent a fantastic few days seeing shows and eating good food and generally I just enjoyed my girls.

Well this week has been all about the two of us reconnecting and I am happy to say that it has gone pretty well. We started on Tuesday with a long hard reconnection spanking that we both really needed. He then left for a few days but checked in quite a few times so we kept feeling close. We talked this weekend about taking our dynamic in even more of a D/s direction. I’m not sure I really can define how I see the difference between Dd and D/s except for us I think it is and will be more mindful and more deliberate.  In many ways it will be exactly the same because  what we do has always extended beyond the bedroom and into our everyday lives. But in addition to being my husband and HoH, he has agreed to be my Dominant. I have agreed to be his wife, tih, and his submissive. I’m not saying anything new but his Dominance feeds my submission. The more dominance he shows the more I want to give him my submission.

It feels a bit like a new beginning. Here’s hoping!

So on a lighter note… I hope this makes you smile. It did me. It’s supposed to be from a hotel in Amsterdam.

image

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. catrouble

     /  01/27/2014

    Hey Zoe…happy new year. 😉 I am happy to hear things are going well for you and Alex…not matter how you describe your relationship…don’t let the definitions get in the way of just doing whatever works best for the two of you. I’m sure you will be great.

    Thanks for sharing the picture…very funny! 😀

    Blessings…
    Cat

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  01/28/2014

      Thanks Cat! What we are doing at the moment seems to be working so I just going to try to keep going whatever the label.

      Reply
  2. Hi Zoe, it is great to see you blogging again. Wow, it seems like 2014 is going to bring some pretty big changes to your dynamic. Good luck,
    love Jan.xx

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  01/28/2014

      Thanks Jan. I may need that luck. It’s exciting to feel like we are at a beginning.

      Reply
  3. quiet sara

     /  01/27/2014

    You sound happy and excited. That’s a great way to begin a new year!

    Reply
  4. Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl)

     /  01/27/2014

    Happy New Year to you also. Glad you enjoyed your time with your daughter and that things are going so well with your husband. Best of luck as you begin this new year and your journey into a deeper connection.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  01/28/2014

      It does feel like a deeper connection. At least that is what we are going for. Thanks!

      Reply
  5. I have the same feeling Zoe! After all the ‘hard’ work we put in last year, we are bound to reap the benefits this year! Now off to drink some wine…I’m on a mission after all *wink*
    love
    willie

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  01/28/2014

      Clapping hand for drinking wine! Such a friend. And yes I think you guys will reap the benefits this year too. 😊

      Reply
  6. Hi Zoe, Happy New Year to you too. So far so good for us!!!!

    That soap is unbelievable, lol…

    As to the kids imposed hiatus, that is my life, lol. I mean we try and manage do a degree, but man, I can imagine how much more fun and constant it would be if we didn’t have to worry about the kids, young and old.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  01/28/2014

      I did get a pretty big laugh from the soap. Oh and those kids love them to pieces but sometimes we just want our privacy!

      Reply
  7. Roz

     /  01/27/2014

    Happy New Year Zoe! Glad to hear you had a wonderful time with your daughter and that things are going well with you and Alex and that you had a wonderful reconnection. Those periods of hiatus are hard.

    Wishing you all the best in 2014. Some exciting changes ahead!

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  01/28/2014

      Thanks Roz! I wish only the best for the two of you as well. We have some really great guys so I’m betting we will do just fine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

