Summertime…

summertime

I am sorry that I have not been very active lately. Summer has been a whirlwind of vacation, family visits, ever present teenagers and young adults and some home improvement thrown in for good measure.

Oh and in the middle of it all we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. I didn’t always know we would get there but I couldn’t be happier today with where we are. I feel like it is a true accomplishment and milestone.

Every day I think I may have a minute to write here and then it doesn’t happen. I have been able to read a few blogs but don’t have time to comment much. I have done a cosmetic remodel of our master bath (It looks great BTW), hosted family for two weeks, ferried kids to and from camp for weeks, and we managed a week long family vacation earlier in the summer. All in all it has been a very busy summer, much busier than the regular school year with its predictable routines. This summer at least has kind of been exhausting.

As you can imagine all this activity in the house has meant that we have not spanked in many weeks. It’s funny. In many ways our dynamic has not suffered. Don’t get me wrong. We both miss the connection and the closeness but we are pretty practical I guess and we both knew that this would be the case so we are trying to make the best of it.  I guess I would call it Dd light. I try to keep up the respect and to keep to the rules we have but neither of us has been too preoccupied with it. He has shown me his dominance in ways which have been fun and we just try to maintain our dynamic day to day as best we can.

We miss it though. Who would have thought two years ago that I would be looking forward to a return to maintenance spankings and greater vigilance on his part?

In some ways I think this hiatus has been good for us. It has made us appreciate what we gain from Dd.  We are anxious to get started again and re-establish our routine.

A few more weeks and the oldest two will be back at their schools and our youngest back in high school.   In the mean time we are hoping to find a few more stolen moments to spank and play and reignite this thing we do.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hi Zoe, I am glad you have posted, was wondering where you were. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, hope you had a lovely day. Not much spanking here really either :((
    love Jan.xx

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/08/2013

      Hi Jan. Thanks. Our day was lovely. Thanks for wondering. I am here just a little more quiet than normal. I am hoping that when school starts I can be more active.

      Reply
  2. Well first and foremost Happy Anniversary! When you reach 25 years, even if I am past the day, I don’t believe it to be belated, you have an entire YEAR worthy of well wishes. I understand the thought that you weren’t sure if you would make it, and look at all you have been through!

    We had stepped back from ttwd ( rather I but no matter the difference) this summer too. I tried like you, and he was acutely aware. I can see that Barney can now see how much better things were before, so I guess that is a good thing. Perhaps next summer I will suggest a scheduled light version of Dd.

    So happy to hear from you. I have been wondering about you.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/09/2013

      Thanks and I don’t consider the wishes belated at all. You’re right, it is a whole year.
      I’m glad that Barney can see how beneficial it is. I know Alex can.
      We knew that this summer was going to be crazy and rather than fight it and be frustrated and disappointed all the time we have just tried to take things in stride. Easier said than done sometimes but it did help to have that mindset.

      Reply
  3. Roz

     /  08/08/2013

    Hi Zoe,

    It’s great to hear from you 🙂

    Wow! Sounds like you have had a very busy but fun time.

    Happy Belated 25th Anniversary … Congratulations! It sounds as though you are in a really good place, despite things taking a bit of a back seat during summer. I’m happy for you!

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/09/2013

      Thanks Roz! We are pretty good right now but kind of itching to get back to things. Thanks for the wishes!

      Reply
  4. Tess

     /  08/08/2013

    Wow, 25 years, congrats and happy anniversary! Hope you are able to find some stolen moments soon…or better yet, a few uninterrupted hours;)

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/09/2013

      Oh those uninterrupted hours are so rare but a girl can hope! Thanks Tess.

      Reply
  5. SunnyGirl

     /  08/08/2013

    Belated Happy Anniversary. Glad you had a good summer even if it was hectic and that things are going so well.

    Like the redecoration here too.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/09/2013

      Aww thanks! It has been a pretty fun summer. Like you said, hectic, but fun. Glad you like the new look.

      Reply
  6. Hi Zoe! Happy Anniversary! Congrats on 25 years! 🙂 It does sound like your summer has been busy, but it sounds like it’s been good too. Dd light, yes, I can relate to that. In many ways that’s been the case here this summer as well. We’ve just started using some submission exercises again to kind of help fill in the gap where spankings and such usually help with the connection. I hope you get to reconnect soon!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/09/2013

      We do some submission stuff too which does help but that has even been light at times. I’ve tried to keep the right frame of mind. Knowing that this hiatus is soon to end is helpful to us both. We miss our active dynamic. Thanks for the anniversary wishes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

