Sick and Tired

of being sick and tired…

Since Christmas Eve I have had strep twice in 14 days which meant being sick for all of Christmas and New Year’s. I had a root canal which put me out of commission for about 8 days in all. Then about 2 weeks ago I got probably the worst sinus infection and case of bronchitis of my life and I am still recovering. I have been on 5 different antibiotics and a steroid pack since Christmas which meant that on top of everything else last week I also had a case thrush. All I know is that it is a good thing I am not working because I would have used all my sick days and then some and it’s only the beginning of March.

Puffs

Last week just sucked. I felt so bad. I haven’t coughed like that in forever and the thrush means that nothing tastes right. I have been through boxes of Puffs. I am getting better which is good but I just hope that this is finally done. Spring can’t get here fast enough. It worries me to be on so many antibiotics and that I my get resistant to them. That was basically what happened with the strep because I finished one case and then almost immediately had a full case again. Not good. They think the steroids weakened my immune system which allowed the bronchitis to take hold. I just hope this cylce is over.

None of this is really serious which makes me appreciate my health all the more. I feel for anyone dealing with a serious illness. Just having a string of consecutive illnesses has been hard enough to take.

That has pretty much kept me from even reading most people’s posts lately let alone commenting. Lurking was just easier if I even did that.

And in happier news…

oneyear

In the middle of all that my blog turned 1 and this is my 100th post!

Thank you to everyone who comes by and reads. I don’t have a lot of readers but I do cherish you all and so appreciate any and all comments you leave. You have all helped Alex and I on this crazy but worthwhile journey and I can’t overstate my gratitude. Having an outlet for my sometimes confusing and jumbled thoughts has allowed me to understand myself better and I know it has helped Alex to understand me better too.

I couldn’t decide if I should post about all the stupid (but essentially trivial) illnesses that I have been dealing with but ultimately you are my friends and friends share things. This blog is about me. Domestic discipline is only one part of my life and often ends up taking a back seat to other things like illness and kids. I’m glad I can share it all. While this community is primarily about Dd it is also a community that shares happiness and sorrow and I am so happy to be a part of it.

Next Post
Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. Sunny Girl

     /  03/03/2013

    Hope you are on the mend and don’t catch another thing this year.

    Reply
  2. willie

     /  03/03/2013

    I am sorry you have so sick. I suppose, maybe you could be happy this happen during the winter ? Yeah I’ ve got nothing.
    Congrats to 1 year and thank you for all of your support!
    Here’s hoping each day finds you twice as strong as the day before.
    willie

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      Thanks Willie. I will be glad when winter is over that’s for sure. The support we give each other here in blogland is so great.

      Reply
  3. Hi Zoe, I hope you feel better soon,maybe you have had so much you will be healthy for the rest of the year. Fingers crossed. I always read your blog but don’t comment often. Yours was the first blog I read and it was that that started me off, Lillie and Wilma soon followed and we are away on our own journey, love Jan.xxx

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      That’s so nice of you to say Jan. It means a lot to me. I wish you luck on your journey. Thanks for reading and commenting! Keeping my fingers crossed that all these illnesses come to an end.

      Reply
  4. Roz

     /  03/04/2013

    Congrats on your blogiversary Zoe! I always enjoy reading here and you have given me food for though with your posts. You are so right, our blogs are to share other parts of our lives as well, not just Dd.

    I’m sorry you have been so sick. You have certainly been through the wringer! I hope you feel better soon and as Sunny said, you’ve had your quota for the year!

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      Thanks Roz. It makes me happy to think I might help anyone. I love reading your blog too. I sure hope my quota is full, at least for awhile. This one after another, after another is for the birds.

      Reply
  5. Kristy

     /  03/04/2013

    Congratulations on 1 year! I always enjoy your blog though I don’t comment often. I think you have beautiful insight! You have definitely had your share of illness-here’s hoping you are done with that and can enjoy a spectacular spring!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      Thanks for commenting Kristy. I’m so glad you did. I vote for a spectacular spring too.

      Reply
  6. Zoe, congratulations on your 100 and on your one-year!! πŸ™‚ I am so happy to have found your blog and I’ve enjoyed reading yours and Alex’s story. I also do hope you start to feel better, that is a lot of time to be feeling sick. Puffs are for sure a savior, if you haven’t tried the ones that are infused with Vick’s Vapor Rub, I highly recommend — they clear your whole head.

    Hope to see you back and well, very soon! (((hugs)))

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      I’ll have to look for those. I haven’t used them but they sound wonderful. Thanks for the wishes and for always commenting it means a lot.

      Reply
  7. Congrats on the 100 posts! I really don’t care how many readers I have. Quality, not quantity, right? πŸ™‚
    I’m so sorry about all of your illnesses Zoe. It’s awful when you don’t feel well. And then to have one thing after the other! Just annoying!
    I have extremely sensitive sinuses, and I’ve had bronchitis and even pneumonia in the past. This year has been a good year for me though. I can’t tell you why.
    I do know that I cannot use any tissues that have lotion in them, b/c I’m extremely sensitive to perfumes and dyes. I have no idea if “Puffs” is contributing to your difficulty, but for me- I must stay away from them.
    I empathize with your lost taste buds. Frustrating, I’m sure! –
    “What, can’t I even enjoy my food? ”
    As for me, I can wait for spring, as my allergies will come into “bloom”. lol
    I’m biding my time!
    Get well soon! And I love reading your blog, no matter what you write. It is always heartfelt and honest! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      Annoying is exactly what this has been. Just when I feel better I get the next thing. Just annoying! I too stay away from the tissues with the lotion. I never really liked them either. Mine are just the basic ones with nothing added.
      Thanks for the kind words about my blog. It means a lot coming from you.

      Reply
  8. Marie

     /  03/04/2013

    Oh that sucks! Sorry your so sick, I hate being sick, it makes me misserable!
    I’m sure your doing everything you can to get better, but I just wanted to share a little home remedy I always use that seems to help me. It’s antibacterial, anti-inflamatory, slightly antibiotic, helps boost your immune system and also aids your liver. I think it helps with digestion too. Here it is,
    -Grate about a 1/4 inch of ginger root, a 1/4 inch of raw tumeric, (you could probably use powdered tumeric too), and boil both together in water for about ten minutes. About 2 cups or so of water.
    – take a few lemon wedges and toss them in a cup with your favorite tea and a heaping spoonfull of honey-( raw local is best because it has all sorts of good stuff in it that processing takes away)
    -pour ginger/tumeric water into cup w/ honey, lemon and tea- go ahead and pour the ginger and tumeric gratings in with it, they are good for you, and steep all to taste, the longer the better
    I drink this concoction all day long when I’m sick, and I’m much better in just a few days. I just kicked the worst cold/flue I’ve had in a long time with it. You can also boil all the ingrediants down together, minus the tea if you’d like, and make a syrup to coat your throat. I also add cinnimon to this as well, and will go with rose-hip tea for the extra vitamin C.
    Congradulations on your blogs aniversary. I’ve thought about writing one myslef, but just haven’t got around to it, don’t know if Ihave the guts for it either. Thanks for writing though, I think your probably helping alot of woman to understand thier journey through the winding road we all tread bravely down.
    Get Well Soon,
    Marie

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      I’ll have to try your home remedy. It couldn’t hurt at least.
      Writing my blog has been so helpful for me and I bet you would feel the same. I do this primarily for me but if I am helping anyone else that is fantastic. “The winding road we all tread bravely down” pretty much sums it up huh? I love that. Thanks Marie.

      Reply
  9. SNP

     /  03/04/2013

    Congratulations on your 100th post! Yay for you. I hope you feel better soon and keep feeling better. A few weeks ago I was sick and I had not been sick like that in a very long time. It just drains your energy. You have wonderful posts and l always enjoy reading here. Take care.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      So good to see you SNP. Having no energy is getting really old. Thanks and I miss you.

      Reply
  10. Congrats on your 100 posts! And furthermore, I really really hope you feel better super quick. It does sound very awful, and I can see how the medicine for one illness caused the other illnesses. I just hope you feel better soon!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/04/2013

      Thanks Julia. I’m getting better, little by little. I just hope I am done with all this for quite some time.

      Reply
  11. Cat

     /  03/04/2013

    Congrats on 1 year/100 posts Zoe! Sending prayers and lots of healing energy that you get well soon and that your immune system is strengthened.

    Blessings,
    Cat

    Reply
  12. Dee

     /  03/04/2013

    Congrats on 100 posts πŸ™‚ and I agree that quality is so much more fulfilling than quantity.
    So sorry you’ve been through all that illness but glad that you shared it here. It would feel a very meaningless blogland if we couldn’t share these things.

    Dee x

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/05/2013

      Thanks Dee. It would be pretty meaningless huh? This blog has been fulfilling and I am so glad you came by.

      Reply
  13. Happy Blogiversary and congrats on your 100th post!!! πŸ™‚ I’m sorry you’ve been so sick though. I’d be sick and tired of being sick and tired by now too! I hope and pray that you feel better soon and stay healthy! (((hugs)))

    Reply
  14. Oh my gosh, Zoe, you have really been through it! Hope you are on the mend now! As a side note make sure you get on the probiotics. Antibiotics can really mess up the good bacteria in your digestive track which can cause lots of other problems. If you can find it Lifeway Kefir is an excellent probiotic drink because it contains many strains of active cultures. Also Culturelle and Florastor can help but the key is to get a variety of strains. I had a very significant problem with this after the prolonged use of antibiotics last year. Nothing to mess around with! Also, if you are still taking antibiotics separate them from the probiotics by about 4 hours.

    Hope you are back to yourself soon. I know how much it sucks to be sick for so long!

    Congrats on your 100th post! That’s awesome!

    Hugs to you,

    Sam

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/05/2013

      Hi Sam. I had thought about the probiotic thing and will pick some up. It is a good point. Thanks. I’m getting better little by little. That’s something I guess.

      Reply
  15. I am sorry that you have been so sick Zoe! It sucks and yeah, I sure know about getting worried about the antibiotics and if they will ever work again. Even the side effects can get overwhelming. I’m sure you are doing all the right things so hang in there and go outside in the sunshine to soak it in whenever possible.

    One year and a hundred posts! Congratulations.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/05/2013

      The weekend is supposed to be nice so I will take advantage of it and get some sun. That always makes me feel better. Thanks Susie!

      Reply
  16. lillie

     /  03/05/2013

    Awww, that is awful – Strep is terrible. I thought I had it myself last week, but my throat cleared up and so I didn’t bother going to see. Hope you get feeling better very soon.
    hugs and congratulations on your 100th post.
    lillie

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/06/2013

      Strep was not fun and strep a second time was really not fun. I am feeling better every day and with luck I will continue to improve. Thanks Lillie.

      Reply
  17. Sara

     /  03/09/2013

    Aww Zoe, I’m so sorry you’ve been sick! So many have this winter season! I hope you continue to feel better and happy 100th post! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/09/2013

      Thanks Sara! I am finally feeling better. Knock on wood that I am finally done with this succession of illness.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

