Worry Wart

Earlier this week Susie used the same title for a post about weather and traveling and worry for her MM on snowy roads. Sorry for the highjack Susie.

wry3

Well the last 24 hours have given that new meaning for me as I sat home powerless to help Alex and our oldest on a journey south through snow covered mountains. They were never in an accident themselves but the interstate they are driving has been closed for about 12 hours.

Unfortunately they got stuck in the middle of all of it and ended up sleeping (or not) in their car all night.

The road FINALLY just reopened and they are starting to drive again. Keep in mind they are still two states away and still have several hours of driving even if there are no further delays. Both their voices sound so tired.

My girl flies back to her school tomorrow so this was supposed to be a relaxing day to get her packed and ready for the next semester. Lack of sleep, the cold, and just the general stress of leaving and the new semester have her completely freaked out and pretty much an emotional puddle. I’m not sure Alex is much better at least on the inside.

I think worry wart pretty well sums up how I feel right now. My logical brain knows that it will be all right in the end and that after a few more tough hours their ordeal will be over. But my mom brain and my wife brain are working overtime right now with worry. It will be a long day until they are both home safe again.

Next Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. We’ll keep your family in our prayers, Zoe, till they’re all safe and where they belong. Tween times are the worst.

    (((hugs)))

    Reply
  2. Tess

     /  01/18/2013

    Oh boy, safe travels for everyone Zoe! I’m a worrier too, so I totally get it. Hang in there!

    Reply
  3. I hope and pray they’re home safe and sound soon, Zoe! (((hugs))) Hang in there!

    Reply
  4. I will be thinking of you guys, scary driving in those conditions. Be safe!

    Reply
  5. Cat

     /  01/18/2013

    Sending prayers and positive thoughts that they get home safely soon Zoe.

    Hugs and Blessings,
    Cat

    Reply
  6. Zoe

     /  01/18/2013

    Thanks everyone!!! They’re home! Yeah! The trip should have taken 7 1/2 hours. It took over 25 hours and they were in the car for 23+ of those hours. Not fun. I have some very sleepy people here but happily they are tucked in and resting now. Thanks again!

    Reply
    • Oh good…came over to see if they were all safe. Have a good, if quick weekend together!

      Reply
  7. Roz

     /  01/19/2013

    I got to this post late happily because I saw your comment. I’m so glad to hear everyone is now safe and sound and happy for you that you can now relax.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Reply
  8. newlifeindd

     /  01/19/2013

    happy to read that you have them at home and tucked in.

    Reply
  9. lillie

     /  01/19/2013

    I am getting here after the fact, so I can just cheer along with everyone that it is okay – whew! I know, Zoe, my goodness do I know what it feels like. Glad all is well.
    hugs
    lillie

    Reply
  10. SNP

     /  01/19/2013

    Sorry I am late getting here, my friend. I am glad everyone is safe!! I hope you are getting some rest and enjoying the rest of the weekend. Hugs.

    Reply
  11. Zoe

     /  01/19/2013

    Thanks again all. All’s well that ends well. While they are not happy it happened I think in some weird way they enjoyed their adventure together and made some real father/daughter memories. Maybe not so bad in the end.

    Reply
  12. Sara

     /  01/20/2013

    And how could you possibly not worry? I’m very glad to hear all is now well and everyone is safe!

    Reply
  13. mybeahind

     /  01/20/2013

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  14. Late here-as usual. Glad all is well!

    Reply
  15. I’m glad it all worked out! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

