Miserable and Grumpy

My guy travels a lot and always has. He has never had a position where he was home every night and is frequently gone 3 or more nights a week. It’s not fun but it is what it is. Because this is all we have ever know we both have ways of coping with these frequent separations.

That is all very fine and good when his trips are normal but he left last week on Monday and won’t be home still until at least Wednesday.

Can I just say that this sucks. I miss my man!

I don’t mean to whine but that is how I am feeling today and I guess I figured that it was better to whine here than to him. His being gone is making me miserable and grumpy!

On a completely different note I have to say that I am sooooooo excited about the new “Les Miserable”  movie that comes out on Christmas Day that I can hardly stand it. “Les Mis” is my favorite musical of all time and I am seriously in lust with Hugh Jackman (yes Alex knows) so put the two together and there you go. I feel like this year I am not so much looking forward to Santa and all but to the movie. Can’t wait. Can’t wait.

This image captures perfectly the two parts of this post and just seemed too perfect not to include…

le miserable cat

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Bas

     /  12/10/2012

    Poor Alex. Missing you for so long must suck even more!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/10/2012

      Bas that is just about the sweetest thing anyone has said to me in a long time. Thanks!!

      Reply
  2. Hey, Hugh Jackman was on Kelly and Michael today, did you see him? He IS adorable. I remember a story he told about his action figure for Wolverine, he had sent his son to his room and when he went in to see if his son was ready to apologize, the action figure was all twisted up in the corner, don’t know why, but that just makes me laugh and laugh. I hope that story changes your mood from grumpy to just slightly irritated…

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/11/2012

      I missed him unfortunately. That is a great story and it did make me smile too. Yes, less grumpy so thanks Cygnet.

      Reply
  3. I’m so sorry you are missing your Alex for so long. I’m missing mine too but only have half as long to wait. In the meantime I will commiserate with you. The picture is perfect!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/11/2012

      I appreciate all commiseration. He’ll not be here until Thursday now but oh well. I kind of thought that would happen. Thanks for the support.

      Reply
  4. lillie

     /  12/10/2012

    I have been seeing Tartar Sauce on Ward and Junie’s blog…..very cute – sorry you are les mis without your fella – hope he is home soon.
    hugs
    lillie

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/11/2012

      Thanks lillie. I didn’t know that was his name. We just call him grumpy cat so when I found the picture I knew it was perfect. He is pretty cute.

      Reply
  5. It is so hard when they are gone for a long time. Schedules that are inconsistent just stink.

    One of the first dates I went on with my husband 20 plus years ago was Les Mis! We loved that production!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/11/2012

      Love, love, love Les Miserable. I saw it in London awhile ago and get to see it live again in February. I cannot wait. First the movie and then live. I’m in heaven.

      Reply
  6. What a perfect pic for this post! I’m sorry you’re missing Alex, Zoe. It’s hard to be apart so often and even harder when it’s longer than usual. (((hugs)))

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/11/2012

      Thanks Grace. I know you deal with this a lot too. Longer is not better in this case. I will be glad when he is finally home that is for sure. Glad you liked the pic.

      Reply
  7. SNP

     /  12/11/2012

    Keep your Chin Up Zoe!

    Reply
  8. Roz

     /  12/12/2012

    Separation is so hard, and especially if it is for longer than normal.

    Hang in there, I hope the time goes quickly.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/12/2012

      He’s home tomorrow finally. It will be good to have him home and safe. Thanks for the wishes Roz.

      Reply
  9. Hi Zoe,
    My husband travels for work as well and like yours is gone about 3 days a week. It has been this way our entire marriage of 20 years. People ask me all the time how I manage with him being gone all the time and before DD I would just shrug and say “we’re used to it.”

    Now that we have a DD marriage I have a much harder time with him being gone. I miss him so much more than I used to. I guess it’s because we are so close and connected now. Anyway, just wanted you to know I feel your pain!
    Sam

    Reply
  10. Zoe I didn’t realize your husband’s name is Alex…so is mine!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  12/21/2012

      Hi Samantha and welcome!

      What you said mirrors us exactly. Before it was fine but now I just miss him so much more and he misses me more too. I truly didn’t think we could feel this way about each other again but Dd and lots of hard work on both our parts has done that for us. It is amazing how close we feel to each other now.

      Zoe and Alex are our blog names. He picked it for himself and I have to say I think it fits him.

      I will come over to your blog and check it out. I’m glad you found me!

      Reply
      • Hi Zoe! I feel the same way. Amazing what this lifestyle does. We are so connected and close 🙂 Samantha and Alex are our blog names as well, lol. It’s so funny, I think he secretly has a crush on Samantha and I definitely think Alex is HOT….LOL!!!

        Would love to have you come over to my blog. I am so new at this. It’s nice to connect with other DD wives.

        Glad I found you too,

        Sam

Leave a Reply

