Checking In

I have pretty much been out of commission lately. My college kids were home for a bit with all the fun, cooking, and general craziness that having all of them home at once entails.

We have been doing some much needed home maintenance and have had workers in and out of the house for about three weeks. Tomorrow is the last day for that and happily the house looks great. I can’t wait to be done and be rid of all those “visitors.”

Then last Monday we got a call that my father-in-law had been rushed to the hospital and for a while we were very worried how it would all turn out. Happily he has made a strong recovery and we are hopeful he will continue to improve but it necessitated a trip to see him (8 hour drive each way) and lend our love and support.

They have no internet in their home and it was only while I was quickly checking a blog on my phone that I remembered LOL Day 7. I was able to get to a place with internet and threw together a quick post and then spent a little time rushing from blog to blog just saying a quick hello. I didn’t even really have a chance to read most of the posts but wanted to let at least some know that I had been by. I am still trying to catch up.

Alex and I have been mostly good. With all this activity our ability to do maintenance, let alone any other spanking as been pretty limited. I can’t say I am thrilled about that but I also know that there is not much we can do about it.

The next month does not seem like it will be any better as far as that goes. He is heading into quite a few weeks of heavy travel and so I will be on my own again most of the time. In between there will be Thanksgiving and more family time but not a lot of “us” time.

I try hard not to stress too much about things I can’t change but it does make me a little sad. I miss the connection we get from regular maintenance. I think we are going to have to work extra hard to fit in whatever connection time we can manage. It’s not that Dd has stopped it just isn’t so immediate as I may want and  I think I get extra feisty when we can’t connect so I am going to have to work hard to behave.

I feel like since we haven’t been very active ourselves that I don’t have a lot to write about lately but I will try to as inspiration hits me. Maybe some of my musings will be more vanilla and less Dd. I’m not sure. Either way I will be here and we will keep working on us which is pretty good.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Roz

     /  11/12/2012

    Hi Zoe, thanks for the update. Great the house is looking great and you are almost rid of the workers. Trying to function normal while working is ongoing around you is stressful!

    Glad you were able to spend time with the kids and that your father in law is on the mend. It sounds as though you have had a super busy time!

    I am sorry you and Alex are heading in a period of time apart.

    Hugs

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  11/14/2012

      Well Roz they have finally left and I have to say the outside of our house has probably never looked better. It feels very satisfying.

      The next couple of weeks will be hectic but then this time of year is hectic for everyone. C’est la vie. Alex and I will connect when we can and seeing all my kids again for Thanksgiving will help too.

      Reply
  2. SNP

     /  11/12/2012

    Zoe, I am glad to read your update. I am sorry for all the happenings going on in your life. I am glad your FIL is okay. Good luck with all your projects. Hugs to you.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  11/14/2012

      Thanks SNP. They are done thank goodness. It’s amazing what a hew coat of paint will do. So far so good with my FIL also thank goodness. Take Care.

      Reply
  3. Glad for the update. It’s really reassuring to know that we all have lives that rear up and smack us in the face at times (-at least that’s how it feels to me, today) making it hard to read blogs we want to, almost impossible to carve out corners for reconnecting, etc etc etc. Glad you’re ok, and keep putting one foot in front of-however slightly-the other! Blessed Be!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  11/14/2012

      It does feel like a smack in the face sometimes but like you said, one foot in front of the other and you make progress. Blessed Be to you as well!

      Reply
  4. Zoe, I can completely relate to all those feelings. It is so hard when you can’t be together as much as you need and when you can’t get that reconnection. Even if you are a little feistier, the beauty of it is that ttwd can help aid that, so it is nice to have that option that even if you get antsy, once you’re together again, you’ll both find a way to feel a lot better.
    (((hugs)))

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  11/14/2012

      Yes we will Riley and I know you know all about connecting when you are away from each other. Takes diligence I guess. The structure of ttwd does help though.

      Reply
  5. Lillie

     /  11/12/2012

    Hi Zoe,
    Having construction workers around is very stressful, let alone all the other things that are happening. I think you have the right approach, connect when you can and try to hold things together until you can have quality time.
    Sorry about your extended family. Prayers coming your way.
    hugs
    lillie

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  11/14/2012

      Thanks Lillie the prayers mean a lot. The house looks great. I wish I could have you all over to show it off. Wouldn’t that be fun.

      Reply
  6. It’s hard when life gets so busy like this and there are too many interruptions to stop and focus on the two of you. I hope you do get a chance to sneak in some times before Alex has to travel.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  11/14/2012

      I’m sure we’ll manage Susie it just sucks sometimes that we have too. The reality is and always has been that he travels a lot so in some ways it makes it easier. I haven’t really ever know any other way so there is no point getting too down about it. He has a great job and the blessings of our life all go back to that and how hard he works. We will make it work.

      Reply
  7. That’s a great attitude in the face of adversity, Zoe, especially when Alex has to travel so much. I am not as strong. Deployments and missions tear me up, and that too has been our reality from the beginning. Hopefully things are winding down, and the holidays will be peaceful and together. Blessings!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  11/15/2012

      June his travel is nowhere near as difficult as a deployment. He is home most weekends at least. I don’t always handle it well but I do try to keep a positive attitude especially lately. Blessings to you both.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

