New Rule

Soda. Pop. Coke.

Depending on where you grew up you know it by a different name. Being a good southern girl I grew up drinking Coke. It didn’t matter what the beverage really was – Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, Orange Pop, we were going to have a Coke.

He calls it pop and over the years that is what everyone in our house calls it. We debate this with other family members from other cities who insist it is soda but we are a pop family.

I think I would call it one of my vices. I drink too much of it. I always drink diet so I am not drinking my calories but I still know it is not the best thing for me. I have even considered asking Alex for help with my consumption of it but I never have because I know how hard it would be for me to give up. I like the taste. I like the bubbles. I just like it.

Well…

Last night, out of the blue, he declared that from today until September 7th I am to drink no pop at all. Not any.

Wait. What? Really? Not any?

See we have an annual health check on September 7th that his company insists on for insurance purposes. It includes weight, body mass index, blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar, that kind of thing.

We had both been working on our weight but honestly summer has caused us both to slack off especially in the work out department and he feels like stopping pop consumption will take conscious effort that will carry over to all the other things that we must do to be in the best health we can be for the upcoming exam so NO POP.

Today I needed some clarification. What exactly does no pop mean.

Could I maybe have an occasional one if we are at a restaurant? Could I maybe have one on just one day a week? Could I maybe have just one last one since the last one I drank I didn’t know was my last and therefore didn’t savor like I should have?

No. No. And No. What part of N and O is hard to understand?

OK. So what are the consequences if I slip up?

For every one you drink, 10 days get added on to the restriction.

What? 10days? Really?

Really.

But that’s so long!

10 days!

Would I get spanked too?

Oh yes. Spanked too.

You’re not kidding are you?

Not in the slightest.

So there you have it. My new rule. I am not at all sure I can do this but I will try. I have asked him to take control and he has. I campaigned and lost all arguments. Now it is up to me to submit or face the consequences. When I write it out like that it seems logical and straight forward. I am not sure it will be in reality.

I actually really admire his conviction and leadership with this. He of course is giving it up too but he doesn’t drink nearly as much as I do. My logical mind knows that getting punished for this (and really anything) is my choice. Do what he asks and it’s all good. Don’t and face the music.

I just hope that logical mind stays with me for the next six weeks.

If I say this enough do you think it will help?

I think I can. I think I can. I think I can.

I want a pop.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. Dee

     /  08/01/2012

    I just call it fizzy juice lol! I’d find this rule really easy to follow, I don’t drink a lot of ‘pop’ 🙂
    Good luck 🙂

    Dee x

    Reply
  2. Oh boy…that is one nasty new rule. I’m sure it is for the best health wise but I’m sure this isn’t going to be a fun rule to keep! Best of luck with it.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/02/2012

      Thanks. I’m not to thrilled but I am trying to be positive.

      Reply
  3. Ana

     /  08/01/2012

    There are lots of little tips to help you with this (try fizzy lemonade, try mixing fizzy water with fruit juice, etc. etc.) but when it comes right down to it, it means yup giving up something you like.

    Cheer up, though. It’s only a little over a month. At least it’s not forever. 🙂

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/02/2012

      Thanks for the tips. I will give them a try. And you are right. A month is not too long (if I don’t mess up in the mean time.)

      Reply
  4. faerie

     /  08/01/2012

    I gave up pop a long time ago, but it was my choice so it was easy.Good luck and watch out for caffeine withdrawal unless you already dank the non caffeinated kind. Caffeine withdrawal can cause vicious headaches.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/02/2012

      Thanks for the tip about the headaches. I can drink coffee and tea so I am not giving up caffeine too.

      Reply
  5. Slightly Naughty Princess (SNP)

     /  08/01/2012

    #1) I also grew up saying Coke for everything that is “Pop”:)
    #2) I don’t drink a lot, but I’ve given it up at times and IT is tough-good luck.
    (like you I usually drink Diet so it is not calories, but not the best choice)
    #3) Funny, my company has a similar policy for our insurance and I signed up for my Wellness Screening today for the end of the month. So, I am watching what I eat for this very purpose, too:) Good luck!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/02/2012

      Good luck to you too. The wellness checks are an annoyance aren’t they.

      Deep down for me it will always be Coke.

      Reply
  6. Blondie

     /  08/02/2012

    I don’t know if it would be possible to give up my Diet Coke. If my husband ever suggested this as a new rule, I would have a really, really hard time following it. I think I may cry just thinking about it. Lol I wish you the very best of luck and I will be cheering for you!

    Reply
  7. Zoe

     /  08/02/2012

    I think I need the cheers. Like your I really like my Diet Coke and my Diet Dr. Pepper. Just writing that made me sigh. This will be hard for me but I so appreciate yours and everyone else’s support. Thanks.

    Reply
  8. You can do it Zoe! It’s kind of amazing what our husbands will come up with when they feel strongly about something. They have this authority now and by golly…they are learning how to use it. Who knew?

    I always called it pop and am just learning to say soda.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/02/2012

      Who knew is right! I am actually kind of blow away by it. We had never talked about it and BAM that is what he picks to crack down on. It took me completely by surprise. So far I am doing pretty well. I’m home alone and wanted a Diet Coke so much at dinner but I resisted. Go me!

      Reply
  9. Kat

     /  08/02/2012

    I also call every beverage a Coke! It’s nice to find other people who do that too. Adam will always say but you are drinking Pepsi! SO? It’s all Coke to me.

    I lost a ton a weight when I stopped drinking Coke and I always drank the Diet stuff too. I noticed an over-all change when I would button my pants and that was really nice. I know you can do it!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/02/2012

      It is always all going to be all Coke to me but I do mostly call it pop now so others are not confused. Thanks for the support.

      Reply
  10. Okay, let me just say that I will NOT be directing Michael to this blog post! I drink too much soda myself…yes, I call it soda. I don’t drink diet though, as I’m fairly certain that aspartame is evil, but I digress. I wish you luck in this because I know that for me it would be a real challenge!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/02/2012

      Yeah Grace. Don’t give him any ideas. I don’t even know what made Alex so insistent but I am stuck with it now. As much as I don’t like the rule I like seeing him flex his HOH muscles and really leading so I am trying to think of it like that.

      I’ve been good so far so I guess the “I think I can” is helping. All the support here helps too. Thanks!

      Reply
  11. Wow he isn’t kidding, is he? I think it’s good, that stuff is really horrible for you. But, I imagine it’s hard to cut cold like that — I’ve heard it’s addictive. I drink lots of seltzer, you can put stuff in it too — like fruit slices to make it more exciting. So you still get fizzy, but it’s a healthy fizz. Best of luck to you!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/03/2012

      No he isn’t. I do feel a bit addicted but so far so good. I will definitely try the seltzer and juice. It will help a lot I think. Thanks for the wishes.

      Reply
  12. Oh Crap! I’m a Diet Pepsi woman myself but I too call everything Coke…..I’m not giving it up. Never!!! (I hope……)

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/03/2012

      That’s what I thought too but he has other ideas. It is healthier so I am trying to be positive about it.

      Reply
  13. Where I grew up, it was called “soft drink”. I prefer water and always choose it over fizzy beverages if I have a choice. No giving up wine would be quite a different kettle of fish:)

    Hugs,
    Hermione

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/06/2012

      Thanks for stopping by Hermione. Wine would be hard for me as well.

      Reply
  14. Suzie

     /  08/05/2012

    Ok I apologize but the nurse in me must point out that if you’re going to drink “coke” it’s better to drink regular rather than diet because the chemicals in diet zaps the calcium from your bones. That being said, I too grew up saying “coke” but have switched to saying “soda” since.

    Good luck! I think the cold turkey thing sucks but I am cheering you on.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  08/06/2012

      Cold turkey is hard but I’m still OK so far. I know it’s not the best but drinking all those calories is not great either so I chose diet. At least for now I am not choosing either.

      Reply
  15. I think it’s sweet that he’s taking such an active role where your health is concerned. H and I recently saw a program about how much sugar is a part of the American diet, and how it is effecting our overall health. I’ll not share the details here, people can research for themselves. But we are making a conscious effort as a family, to reduce our intake overall. Soda has a always been very limited in our house, but not outlawed. So, going cold turkey is a great idea. We really don’t need it at all. Likely it’s keeping us from eating the good stuff, like veggies and fruit.
    Best of luck with the challenge. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

