Follow You

Alex is out of town again and I am sitting here missing him and thinking about our weekend. We have to take our moments of alone time where we can. On Thursday night I was promised maintenance the next morning but sadly teleconferences and poor planning got in the way and so it has been over two weeks since we were able to do any spanking. I didn’t really say too much to Alex because it wasn’t going to change anything but I was disappointed that it didn’t happen. Maybe this week. I like the connection and miss that.

We realized over the weekend that we were at the six month anniversary since we started Dd. The time has really flown. Next week we will celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. It seemed like a good time to look back and review our agreement and rules. It never ceases to amaze me how seriously he takes all this and how willing he is to step up and into this new way of relating. We both reaffirmed our commitment going forward. He leads, I follow.

I love the music of Jon McLaughlin. If you are unfamiliar with his work he has a new album called Promising, Promises. Check it out.

I have seen him in concert 4 or 5 times and always love it.

One of my favorite songs on his new album is a beautiful love song called “I’ll Follow You.” It really speaks to me and what Alex and I are doing right now. It feels so right to be where we are and following is exactly what I want to do. I hope you enjoy Jon’s work and the song.

I’ll Follow You 

People tell me there will come a time,
When your heart and mine will grow cold
No more staring at the evening sky,
low replaces high when you’re old.

As long as you’re around I’ll follow you,
You won’t ever be alone.
As long as you’re around I’ll follow you,
and I will be wherever you go.

They say the future is our enemy,
Time eventually set the sun,
Well I believe in you and you believe in me,
How can we ever go wrong?

As long as you’re around I’ll follow you,
Heart is never gonna break.
As long as you’re around I’ll follow you,
And I will give whatever this love takes.

So, be patient baby,
Hold me close,
I hope you understand,
You’re beautiful and I’m just a man.

So in the hours of the darkest kind,
When its hard to find who we are.
One can stare into the other’s eyes be
each other’s light in the dark

As long as you’re around I’ll follow you,
You won’t ever be alone
As long as you’re around I”ll follow you,
And I will be wherever you go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. That is such a beautiful song, I’ve heard it before. I’m not going to replay it because it might make me tear up, it is just so touching. I’m so sorry you’re missing your man, I can empathize with you. I hope you get to see him soon. And happy anniversary. *hugs*

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/26/2012

      I’m glad you like the song. I don’t think there are any of his songs that I don’t like. I know you can empathize. Hang in there. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Dee

     /  06/26/2012

    I will definitely be checking out this album. Thanks 🙂 Beautiful song.

    Dee x

    Reply
  3. Sara

     /  06/26/2012

    Happy Anniversary Zoe! I hope that maintenance, those reconnection can start happening more frequently…and I hope Alex is home soon! Sara

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/26/2012

      Thanks Sara. I think it will be September before we are back to anything like a regular schedule but I knew it would be this way so I am trying to take it in stride. Thank for the wishes and happily he should be home tomorrow.

      Reply
  4. faerie

     /  06/26/2012

    Happy Anniversary Zoe, hope Alex gets home soon and you get the reconnection you need 🙂 I’m about to charter a bus to send the teens away so we can have some privacy ourselves. Should I schedule a stop at your place? LOL.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/26/2012

      Thanks Faerie. And YES, YES, YES, please send the bus my way. That would be awesome! I love it!

      Reply
  5. dancingbarez

     /  06/26/2012

    I know how dissappointing it can be when you miss maintenance and that you get a chance to make up for lost time. The lyrics of this sone are pretty. I have never heard it before but am going to check it out. Happy Anniversary.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/26/2012

      Thanks for the wishes. I’m glad you liked the song. I love all his music.

      Reply
  6. Beautiful song! And congrats on your anniversary! I hope Alex gets home soon and you get a chance to reconnect. It’s hard when you can’t seem to fit it in, when life just gets in the way.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/26/2012

      It feels like life has been getting in the way quite a bit lately. What can you do? Glad you liked the song.

      Reply
  7. MMy silly internet won’t let me listen to these, but I love the lyrics! Happy half anniversary. I hope you get your reconnect soon. I know how hard it is without them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

