Texting and Driving

Three hours into an eight hour car trip, Alex got this text from our daughter.

Have you ever gotten a speeding ticket?

His reply –

WHY???

OK. Back up.

We had just passed into a new state and being the ever vigilant, never speeding (maybe a stretch, I’m wearing my halo) driver that I am, I wondered out loud to her what the speed limit was where we were and how it might have changed.

She then asked if I had ever gotten a ticket and I told her no, not ever.

Has Dad ever gotten one? 

I don’t know. I can’t remember.

I’m texting him.

At this point I am telling her not to do this and that he is going to think I had gotten a ticket if she sent it. She laughs and says she’s doing it. We have a rule about speeding and a ticket would be an automatic severe punishment. I am laughing and cringing at the same time.

Well he of course assumed I had gotten pulled over and she freaked him out more than a little at least for a moment.

Luckily for me it was a false alarm but that child is going to get me in trouble!!!

Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. What a trouble maker! At least there was no ticket…Drive carefully!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/19/2012

      It was really pretty funny. It’s not like she knows about Dd so she doesn’t understand the kind of trouble she could stir up.

      Reply
  2. Your daughter sounds quite feisty 😉 But good feisty, so long as it never gets you in trouble!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/19/2012

      Oh she’s feisty alright but I wouldn’t change that at all. She’s really pretty wonderful and very fun to travel with.

      Reply
  3. Sara

     /  06/19/2012

    Oooh, they LOVE to do that, don’t they? At least your husband knbew enough to get the real story from YOU! Sara

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/19/2012

      Oh yes. She thought it was hysterical. Luckily Alex trusts me enough to check with me before making any judgement.

      Reply
  4. Slightly Naughty Princess (SNP)

     /  06/20/2012

    Glad this turned out okay and I am sorry about your other post and baking disappointment!
    Take care,

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/21/2012

      Thanks SNP and I now am on a mission to make the perfect Angel food cake. Everyone has to have a goal. Huh?

      Reply
  5. Lol…kids these days!

    Reply
  6. Ana

     /  07/14/2012

    Haha…

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  07/18/2012

      Before we left on this current trip she asked him if she should text about getting pulled over like last time. I don’t think you have to guess what he said. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

