Home Then Gone Again

My guy is finally home from a week of travel and I leave in the morning for a long weekend with my daughter and some friends. Then he is gone most of next week and the daughter and I go on another trip to relatives next weekend. I feel like we are two ships passing in the night.

I miss him so much when he is gone these days and can’t wait until we are together but life seems to be getting in the way.

We were able to do maintenance and some reminders to work out and take care of myself. I would like to say I didn’t need it but I did. We miss that connection when we don’t get it and we won’t have another chance for at least another week.

I have to say he stepped up and spanked longer and harder than usual and probably ever. But as difficult as it was, it was exactly what I needed. He started with a warm up with his hand and then moved to various leather implements. He finished with the bath brush which I hate. He took care of me when it was over and ultimately I think it was exactly what we both needed.

What we really need is to be in the same city more but that is not possible right now so I will take what I can get. I never cease to marvel at how he has embraced his role and finds ways to make it work for us both.

A check out lady at the store today asked me how I was. I was able to answer her honestly that I was great and that I couldn’t complain. Often we just make small talk and say that whether it is true or not. It was such a good feeling to say it and mean it. Not a bad feeling at all.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Suzie

     /  06/09/2012

    Sometimes I wish I could say I didn’t need maintenance, but when things are crazy sometimes it’s exactly what I need.

    I’m sorry you and your husband can’t be in the same city at the same time. I hope things slow down for you soon. In the meantime I hope you enjoy that extra time with your daughter.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/09/2012

      Thanks Suzie. Being able to connect even if it was just for a while really helped. I will enjoy the time and with luck things will slow down soon.

      Reply
  2. Tess

     /  06/09/2012

    Sounds like things are pretty hectic in your neck of the woods! Glad you had a chance to connect. It sounds like he took good care of you. Hope you get some more downtime together real soon!

    Reply
  3. Slightly Naughty Princess (SNP)

     /  06/09/2012

    Yes, enjoy your time this weekend and travel safely. Very nice ending on your post. I don’t like to be “fake” about things, but small talk can be that way at times. Maybe fake is not the right word… But, how great you meant every word:)

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/09/2012

      It was so nice to be able to answer her honestly. I find myself being able to answer like that more and more often lately. 🙂

      Reply
  4. We miss each other more, need each other more and notice all the little things. It’s hard and good at the same time.

    You both sound so busy. Hang in there and enjoy your time away this weekend. I hope you get some time together when you get back.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/09/2012

      Thanks Susie. Hard and good. So right. After I wrote this I was thinking that it sounded so two sided. I’m a mess and missing him and yet happy at the same time. How can that be but it is. Hard and good.

      Reply
  5. I’m so glad that the two of you got the chance to reconnect. I’m sure that being apart so much is really difficult and I hope the two of you can carve some more time out for each other soon.

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  06/09/2012

      I’m glad we could reconnect too. It really did help. Time for each other will happen eventually.

      Reply
  6. Dee

     /  06/10/2012

    Not a bad feeling at all…….. this says it all about the power of reconnection huh 🙂

    Dee x

    Reply
  7. I’m happy to hear you had a good reconnection! I hope you had a great weekend 🙂

    Reply
  8. Zoe

     /  06/11/2012

    Thanks Riley. It was and I hope yours was too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

