WoW MoM!

“When you were small and just a touch away, I covered you with blankets against the cold night air. But now that you are tall and out of reach, I fold my hands and cover you with prayer.
– Dona Maddux Cooper

Having the privilege to be the mother of the three beautiful, smart, accomplished children is the greatest joy in my life. Watching them grow and change, mature and move out into the world is both humbling and empowering.

I have often told Alex that I am not sure what else we do right in this world but we make beautiful babies together and somehow we have managed to raise them into beautiful people. I am so blessed.

****

On a lighter note I thought I would share the story of the weirdest Mother’s Day gift I ever received which makes it my favorite in many ways.

We were living in the UK at the time and went to Mass on Mother’s Day. It was a small church and at the end of Mass the priest asked the mothers to stand so he could honor us. He said some nice things and then produced a basket and said he had a gift for all of us. He passed the basket around and we each took one of these….

That’s right! We each received a nested hammer/screw driver set. All the little screw drivers fit inside each other and inside the hammer’s handle. We all laughed and he smiled and to this day I don’t really have an understanding of exactly why he picked that as the gift he gave us. I never forgot it though and somehow the humor and weirdness make it a very cherished memory.

Happy Mother’s Day all!

May you receive the  weird and wonderful because you deserve it!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Hmmmm – cause Mothers have the tools to fix everything, and build incredible people!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  05/13/2012

      Oh June!!! That is the most lovely thought. I think I’ll go with that. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Dee

     /  05/13/2012

    Strange yes 🙂 I like June’s interpretation.
    Happy Mother’s Day to you

    Dee x

    Reply
  3. happy mothers day!

    Reply
  4. Zoe

     /  05/14/2012

    Same to you Julia. Hope it was great.

    Reply
  5. Interesting gift, for sure! I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Hmmm, what an interesting gift! And I bet it’s come in handy at times as well. I hope you had a great Mother’s Day! I certainly did! 🙂

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  05/14/2012

      It has Grace. I’m glad that you had a great day like me. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

