Words of Wisdom

Hymann’s Seafood is a restaurant is Charleston, SC that I was fortunate to be able to enjoy several weeks ago. They have great food and a fun atmosphere. If you are ever in Charleston I highly recommend going.

The thing I loved best about them (besides the food) was the collection of cards they have in the restrooms and around the restaurant for you to take home. They are the size of a business card and are little cards of wisdom. They include a tribute to our soldiers, Coach John Wooden’s favorite maxims, the teachings of Rabbi Y’sreal Salanter on things like truth, respect and patience, and their motto on the importance of attitude. All little gems.

I thought sharing them all might be a bit much so I decided to share these two.

The first is more serious and provides some great advice.

40 Promises for Marriage

~by Steve Stephens
1. Start each day with a kiss.
2. Wear your wedding ring at all times.
3. Date once a week.
4. Accept differences.
5. Be polite.
6. Give gifts.
7. Smile often.
8. Touch.
9. Give back rubs.
10. Laugh together.
11. Send a card for no reason.
12. Do what the other person wants before he or she asks.
13. Listen.
14. Encourage.
15. Know his or her needs.
16. Fix the other person’s breakfast.
17. Compliment twice a day.
18. Call during the day.
19. Slow down.
20. Hold hands.
21. Cuddle.
22. Ask for the other’s opinion.
23. Show respect.
24. Look your best.
25. Celebrate birthdays in a big way.
26. Apologize.
27. Forgive.
28. Set up a romantic getaway.
29. Be positive.
30. Be kind.
31. Be vulnerable.
32. Respond quickly to the other person’s request.
33. Reminisce about your favorite times together.
34. Treat each other’s friends and relatives with courtesy.
35. Send flowers every Valentine’s Day and anniversary.
36. Admit when wrong.
37. Be sensitive to each other’s sexual desires.
38. Pray for each other daily.
39. Say “I love you” frequently.
40. Seek outside help when needed.

 Of course I would add…
41. Spank

The next card seeks to provide men with a way to translate our words because it seems that we speak different languages…

Words Women Use

Fine

This is the word women use to end an argument when they are right and you need to shut up.

Five Minutes

If she is getting dressed, this means a half an hour. Five minutes is only five minutes if you have just been given five more minutes to watch the game before helping around the house.

Nothing

This is the calm before the storm. This means “something,” and you should be on your toes. Arguments that begin with “nothing” usually end in “fine.”

Go Ahead

This is a dare, not permission. Don’t Do It!

Loud Sigh

This is not actually a word, but is a non-verbal statement often misunderstood by men. A “loud sigh” means she thinks you are an idiot and wonders why she is wasting her time standing here and arguing with you about “nothing.”

That’s Okay

This is one of the most dangerous statements a women can make to a man. “That’s okay” means she wants to think long and hard before deciding how and when you will pay for your mistake.

Thanks

A woman is thanking you, do not question, or faint. Just say you’re welcome.

I found 2 more when looking on the internet that seemed to be worthy of inclusion.

Whatever

Is a woman’s way of saying F– YOU!

Don’t worry about it, I got it

Another dangerous statement, meaning this is something that a woman has told a man to do several times, but is now doing herself. This will later result in a man asking ‘What’s wrong?’ For the woman’s response of “nothing.”

Now I am sure that none of these refer to any of us, right ladies, but if they did I’m sure that our guys will refer to # 41 above. 🙂
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. The first list is very sweet…happy to see that we do so many of those things already:) The second list is cute…although I feel like my husband is the one who is always saying “five minutes!” to me when I am getting ready…and he really means it, lol.

    Reply
  2. lil

     /  05/05/2012

    Lol. That’s awesome.

    Reply
  3. I’ve seen that 2nd list before and have had a giggle at it each time that I’ve seen it. I’m certain it doesn’t apply to me though…well…not anymore anyway. If it did, yeah, Michael would refer to #41 on that first list. Yikes! I agree with Tess, that first list is sweet. Seems like it should be something handed out to newlyweds or something. 😉

    Reply
  4. roguesawakening

     /  05/05/2012

    Very true words! Did you pencil in your #41?? 🙂

    Reply
  5. Zoe

     /  05/05/2012

    Tess… I know what you mean about the five minutes. I get that too sometimes.

    Thanks Lil!

    Grace… I’m with you. Alex would refer to #41 if I mess up on the 2nd list. And giving the 1st out to newlyweds is a sweet idea.

    Rogue… I’m glad you liked it and yes, I added #41.

    Reply
  6. Cutest. Post. Ever. 😉 Loved #41 especially, of course! Basically, should 1-40 be violated…41 will put it all back in place!

    Reply
  7. This was fun! I think I ought to add a few of the first list to my priority list and remember to skip a few from the second list.

    Reply
  8. Zoe

     /  05/06/2012

    Thanks Riley. #41 does put it all back in place, doesn’t it?

    Susie… Remembering to stay away from the second list can be hard but happily I am finding it easier to do the things on the first. 🙂

    Reply
  9. I try hard not to do some of them, others, like whatever. yep, guilty! I use it exactly in that way!

    Reply
  10. Zoe I have these exact cards from thee exact place! They are posted on my bulletin board – I love them!!

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  05/11/2012

      I had so much fun going there. Good food, good company. I love all the cards. They are worth a spot on the bulletin board.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

