A Question

We are doing really well right now. We are connected and communicating. We have come so far from where we were and are working hard to mend us and our relationship.

I wrote Alex a letter last week and talked about all aspects of what we are doing, Dd, my submission and his dominance, our sexuality, how it is all affecting us for the better. He appreciated the input and the feedback. This blog has been worth it just for that. It has really opened up the writer in me and allowed me to express myself to him through that writing.

In the letter I told  him, “I’m a little worried we are in a honeymoon period of sorts and at some point one or both of us will start to come down off this high. When that happens we must commit to support the other so that we can maintain what we have started.”

When we talked he said that he totally understands that feeling and worries a little bit about that himself.

Trust me, I am not looking for trouble. I am trying to anticipate the challenges we may face and be prepared for them. I am hoping to make this be more like a marathon than a sprint.

One of the reasons I wanted to have a blog was to tap into the knowledge and camaraderie of this community.

So I’m asking… Did anyone else feel like they went through a honeymoon period? Did anyone else feel like this in the beginning? How did you work through it if you did?

Even roads are easier to navigate than roads with lots of peaks and valleys. Thanks for the help keeping us there.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Zoe, I’m so happy that you’ve found a new and effective way to communicate with your husband. I do write a lot, but H wants me to tell him things in person. Writing helps me to clarify my thoughts and then I can tell him more clearly what I want to say.
    I recall our honeymoon period as one frought with anxiety-lol! I was on eggshells a lot, and now we are both more relaxed. It doesn’t feel like a run of any kind. But I can understand your feeling that way. You’re doing great!

    Reply
  2. Zoe

     /  03/25/2012

    Thanks Elysia. Because he travels a lot writing things out allow me to get my thoughts out so that when he is around we can talk about them. I am trying to be relaxed. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Reply
  3. Yes, we hit a real hard place about 3 months in and that lasted a couple months. At about a half year we hit what I’d call the “honeymoon” phase and for a while I figured we had it all worked out. Then like you, I started to get anxious and wonder what was up. LOL…that was right when I started blogging. The effect of blogging was to pour stuff out of my head and the act of doing that got both of us talking more and not soon after we hit a whole bunch of learning curves. The blog meant a lot to me even then as I finally had a place to process all of it.

    Ha, I don’t think I have answered your question, but I hope you find this blog to be as helpful as I have found mine. It keeps me centered thru all those peaks and valleys and the friendships have helped me stay on the road. My husband and I have learned a lot about each other b/c of it.

    Reply
  4. Zoe

     /  03/26/2012

    Susie, that is exactly how I feel about my blog. I think one of the reasons we are doing so well right now is this blog. A lot of people have blogs that their husbands don’t read but I really can’t imagine that. It has been such an important way for him to see how I am doing and what I am thinking. He doesn’t write himself but by reading my stuff it has helped him process things as well and led to some great discussions. I think maybe that is one way to keep us on that even path.

    Thanks for your comment and support. It means a lot.

    Reply
  5. We’ll find ourselves sailing along smoothly for awhile and then the winds will change and a storm will come up. It’s good to realize that just because things are going smoothly now, doesn’t mean that it will always be that way, but it’s also good to realize that if you’re going through a storm right now that it also won’t always be that way. 😉

    Reply
  6. Zoe

     /  03/27/2012

    Grace that’s such good advice. Hopefully that realization in and of itself will be enough to help us when things get tough. Thanks so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

