Appreciation

Our son is home from college for spring break and I love having him here. He is a big kid and is one of those teenage boys that truly can be a bottomless pit at times. I love cooking for him. There is no one more appreciative which makes it all worthwhile.

Our weekend of reconnection went very well even if it couldn’t include spanking. When we have two in the house all the time it greatly reduces opportunities for ttwd. We will have to get quite creative this summer I think. Hmmm.

One of the benefits of this blog for us has been my ability to process what is going on in my head and present it to him in a fully formed way. It has definitely made it easier for me to tell him exactly what I am feeling which is not always easy face to face. He reads everything I write before I post and I also write some private posts just for him so we can talk about everything going on in my head. (Scary I know.) If I were just talking about this I wouldn’t be able to rewrite and edit until I was happy with my thoughts. It has allowed me to really work through some ideas I’m not even sure I knew were there until I started writing.

This post is like that. I started it thinking that I was going to write about privacy and the lack of it due to our son being home and how we will need to get creative this summer. Then I wrote the part about how much fun it is to cook for an appreciative son.

This weekend during our talk I thanked Alex. We were laying together just being quiet and he had to ask what I was thanking him for.

I told him I thanked him for taking this all seriously. Changing a marriage is hard work and doing it with Dd is such an enormous step. I wanted him to know that I truly appreciate how open and receptive he has been through this whole process. It can’t be easy. I know I am not always easy but hopefully knowing how appreciative I truly am will make the times when it is hard or not so much fun easier to get through.

We all like to think that what we do has value and that somebody notices. I want him to know I appreciate it all.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. How nice to have your son home for the weekend. 🙂 In a few years our home will be the same, one off to college and one home. I’m enjoying having them both under my roof while it lasts. 😉 I think it’s great that you thanked your husband and let him know how much you appreciate him and his efforts. You’re right, it’s a big change and it’s not an easy one at times either. I’ve relayed my appreciation to my husband from time to time as well, but I think I’ll make sure I do so again today. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh yes, my husband truly appreciated my appreciation for all of the changes he was making and all of the extra responsibilities when our lifestyle was new. Now I just thank him for all that he does overall. He seems to be lifted in his spirit when I thank him for going to work every day and the things he does for us at home.
    I love to hear both you and Grace share my sentiments. I try hard not to whine and complain b/c sometimes we have to put our own needs aside.
    it was so nice that you had you son home to cook for. My boys sure are bottomless pits also! And my husband joins right in! It makes it hard for me to diet, lol. But I’m trying anyway.
    I also find that the writing process helps me to clarify things. Its also nice to share our thoughts with others who feel so much the same.
    Now I think I’ll read some of your other posts.

    Reply
  3. Yeah, like the other ladies said! Mine lights up when I tell him how proud I am of him for where we’ve been able to get to and how much I appreciate him. He’ll say something like “it’s my job” but he’s secretly pretty pleased.

    Reply
  4. Zoe

     /  03/05/2012

    Grace, How nice that what I wrote will make you tell him thanks. That really made me smile.

    Elysia, All this cooking will definitely make dieting hard this week. And I agree, thanking him for the day to day stuff is so important too.

    Susie, It is so good to make sure they know and I think he was pretty pleased as well.

    Reply
  5. Gratitude is a special kind of joy that you can share with him.

    My first son will be leaving next fall, and I’m already looking forward to the first break when he’ll be back home.

    Reply
  6. Stormy

     /  03/08/2012

    I really should tell my husband more often, that I appreciate him leading me. I can’t quite say I appreciate him spanking me..he knows I don’t and lying is a spanking offense! Lol..

    I love how you write 🙂

    Reply
    • Zoe

       /  03/08/2012

      Thanks for the compliment. Writing this post made me realize just how important gratitude is. I am making a conscious effort to make sure he knows.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

